Saturday, February 24, 2007

The 2006 Turing Award winner is...


The 2006 Turing Award goes to Frances E. Allen

For pioneering contributions to the theory and practice of optimizing compiler techniques that laid the foundation for modern optimizing compilers and automatic parallel execution

It's a disgrace that the Turing Award existed for 40 years before the first female receipient was found. I know that the first contributors to the field were mostly men, but you would have thought that they could have found a time before now, to give it to Allen?

Mark C. Chu-Carroll, of God Math, Bad Math has a post up about the winner. He have meet her personally, and is a great fan.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home